Newbie: What else should I do to make this complete?

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
So tell me what I'm missing. I'm completely new to diy electronics, but I wanted to give it a run and my 1150D went so I thought I'd build an amplifier. Box is still in the making but the amp is currently as basic as you can get. I have a transformer with a simple thermistor for inrush limiting and two bridge rectifiers with a small cap bank. 3A fuse and a power button connects the TF and I have two L12-2 amps for stereo music. Plan on using it with my Kirishima horns.
Should I add speaker protection and a soft start? If so whats my best bet for a kit or pre-designed circuit? I lack the know how to do a custom fit. The box pictures will be uploaded after I make it, plan on an aluminum enclosure 13"×10"×3" with netic s3-6 steel to shield the ps section. Not sure i need the shielding but we had extra material at work.

Attachments

• 20210408_213509.jpg
    20210408_213509.jpg
    722.8 KB · Views: 166
  • 20210408_213540.jpg
    20210408_213540.jpg
    513.9 KB · Views: 157
You are lacking the heat sinks on the output transistors. The layout of these stupid boards means you need four heatsinks instead of two. Heatsinks are usually more expensive than the import boards, unless you can salvage them. The ones in discarded flat screen TV's would be useful, about 4 cm x 10 cm x 2.5 cm. But you can't buy discarded flat screen TV's, you have to pick one up on garbage day. You can pay about $20 apiece for new heat sinks from a distributor. Don't forget the silicon rubber thermal pads between output transistors & heat sink. Make sure mount screw doesn't touch the OT metal flange.