Symasym vs Mauro Penasa MyRef C

Symasym, MyRef C, Or Something else within these two price range

• Symasym

Votes: 7 58.3%
  • MyRef C

Votes: 5 41.7%

• Total voters
Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hi, i am new to the world of DIY amps. I currently have a jadis dp60l preamp paired with audio analogue donizetti monoblocks. I was wondering which amp is better sounding and more worth to build, symasym or myref C. I can get build both with the same price, so i just wanted to know which one is better to build. Thanks!

I've not heard either of them, but based on everything I've read about them I would expect my own ears to find the Penasa amplifier the cleaner sounding of the two with absolutely nothing to complain about and the Symasym to have some of it's own personality that may or may not be just what I'm looking for.

I have built two Symasym and in the end I dissasembled them. Sound is clean, clear, open and punchy, but very transistory - grainy, instruments have lost their color, overall sound is uninvolving.

Than I build DOGC-MK3 (DOGC-H) and it sounds more like music and still it is clear, clean very dynamic.

I have not built the Freeman version ( I hear it is very good. Pun intended) but my two Twisted Pear kits are fabulous. Very whole and matching top to bottom. Smooth and natural.

I have a 10” two way that sounds fantastic with it.

Best I ever heard, no, not by a long shot. But for the money, penny for penny it can complete with anything.

Joined 2010
Paid Member
Maybe instead of asking questions to everyone about many amplifiers, you could read and ask questions in the threads that refer to specific types. That way, you get the attention of others who are interested and probably know something more about that particular design and maybe similar ones, among the hundreds of others that are discussed and compared here too.