78/79 vs. LM317/337 regulators

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
All,
I've been doing some measurement lately on pre-amp power supply regulators. I've read a lot on this forum about super regulators, etc and whether the regulators supply the amp or the op-amp decoupling caps, etc, etc. However, I'm just starting out, so need to build a firmer foundation for my own understanding before moving on.

I am new to measurements in audio and I don't have the equipment to measure the regulator PSRR, so I have constructed a mock-up pre amp. This consists of a TL071CN op-amp with a gain of 10, delivering 10v pk-pk, between 100Hz and 200KHz into a 1Kohm resistive load. I can power this pre-amp with a 78/79 series or a LM317/337 (implemented as data sheet; variable supply with improved ripple rejection) supply. I have decided to take my measurements at the positive supply pin of the op-amp; so that I can investigate what difference it "sees" with different supplies. Here are my results, all pk-pk mV:

Frequency_______ripple 78/79__________ ripple LM317/337

100 Hz _________1.8_____________________ 1
1 KHZ1__________10______________________2
10 KHZ___________8______________________4
20 KHZ___________6______________________5
200 KHZ__________6______________________6

The shape of the ripple varied between saw tooth and sine wave, with some weird shapes at certain frequencies; see below. All these waveforms had about 1mV hf superimposed on them, at about 10MHz, which is a bit dubious as the scope has only 15MHz bandwidth!

The 78/79 regulators gave a peak ripple of 22mV pk-pk at 3 KHz; the LM317/337 regulators gave a peak ripple of 6mV pk-pk at 200 KHz.

The 78/79 regulators gave the weirdest shape ripple at 1.2 KHz (pictured below), the LM317/337 regulators gave the weirdest shape ripple at 22.85 KHz (similar in shape to the picture below, although about 1/2 the pk-pk value).