Need help for my audio project. Transistor replacement

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hello, good day everyone!

I am a student here in Philippines, im currently doing my project. But since my country lacks of electrical parts, I cant find these parts here. And I needed to replace this.

Is there something that is similar to these that I can use?

BDX67B or BDX67C

BDX66B or BDX66C

maximum collector-emitter voltage = 100 V
maximum collector current = 16 A
maximum thermal loss = 150 W

My teacher wont give me some advice, so I just have no one else to come to so Im hoping this forum can help.

This is my project, maybe it can help: 100W Audio Amplifier

Sorry for my very bad English. If you have any other questions, please do not hesitate to ask me.

Thanks advance
and
God bless!

That project is fine but **OLD**, and probably pulled from some Elektor Magazine from the 80's .

Metalliic TO3 case power Datlingtons went out of fashion LONG ago and if you find them today, seller may ask $15 to $25 each ... simply not needed and not worth it.

Replace them by very popular and available TIP142/TIP147 which will work fine in that amplifier and cost less than $2 each, and be available anywhere.

Mounting changes a little, you will get them in rectangular TO247 case, use rectangular matching mica of course, use single screw mounting and after mounting each on its heat sink, cut legs about 8 or 10 mm long and bend them upwards in the middle, then you can solder wires coming from the PCB to these leg stubs.

You must also attach the bias transistor (T3) to one heat sink: you may Epoxy it in place or drill a 6mm hole in one of them and put bias transistor inside it, with a little thermal grease (or Epoxy).

EDIT:yes, I know TIPs are 10A and 125W each, yet they are perfectly fine in this amplifier.

I agree with most written by JMFahey