Mod Upgrade of BK ST-210 commercial amp

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hi folks, so I'm a noob and have spent a few hours perusing the forums and researching terminology to familiarize myself with DIY amps with an eye towards actually building one ...

I sold the commercial stuff from 1980-82. Mostly low end but also some fairly nice SAE, Carver, Phase Linear (ka-boom!) and some decent reel to reels, etc., so I have a rudimentary knowledge of some of the basics.

With that introduction, my question is ... I have a BK ST-210 which I would like to (for my first tech effort) crack open and explore the need for upgrading or modifying components. Can someone help direct me as to what I should look for with this unit? I understand it is supposed to be rated at 300 watts into 4 ohm load. My current speakers (purchased new in '82!) are the AR 9LS which vary down to 3.2 ohm. Do I look for cap leakage? Should I just plan on upgrading the power cord? What else should I look for and is there any part(s) that I can replace (even if not 'bad') which will improve the sound/performance?

Thanks! This is my new favorite place in the virtual world.

Dan

Peter, thanks for the links! The myths article is just awesome. What a relief I don't need to go out and replace all my cables! Although I may make some shorter speaker wires. In the 80's we just tinned zip cord so I suppose that will still suffice. One item that's not addressed in the article is whether DACs are effective. I've been running my iPhone directly into my preamp and streaming Pandora. Any thoughts on DACs?

Thanks again! I think I'll refrain from cracking the amp open for now ... ;)

Dan

Hi Dan,

Myself, I am totally ignorant of DACs (from a user point of view). However, this is a good site to read about the various issues relating to DACs in audio systems:
The Extremist DAC