Getting started with PCB design

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hi!

After building a few amps more or less successfully (they all work), i'd like to start sketching up simple PCBs. Obviously I have never done this before and don't quite know where to start. I read an article on sparkfun mentioning the fritzing software and i know tons of people use eagle. What's the best place to start for a beginner?

Also what are the rules regarding other people's circuit designs? Say I find a circuit that looks reasonable easy to me on the internet and build that circuit on a breadboard (or PCB) for my own use. Would that be a copyright problem or similar?

Happy to hear your advice.

Personally, I use KiCAD for schematic entry and PCB layout. It does have a few quirks, as do all of the available tools, but once you learn to deal with them it will allow you to create professional quality results. And the fact that it is available free of charge doesn't hurt.

Hi!

Also what are the rules regarding other people's circuit designs? Say I find a circuit that looks reasonable easy to me on the internet and build that circuit on a breadboard (or PCB) for my own use. Would that be a copyright problem or similar?

Happy to hear your advice.

There are loads of free from copyright designs on the net.

For those that arent a email to the designer will often find out if you use it or not and under what conditions.

I asked Maplin if I could reproduce their 50 watt hi-fi amp from 1980.
They said it was fine so long as I didn't use the Maplin name anywhere.
They were worried about people getting in touch with Maplin about faulty amps.

I settled on EasyEDA after all and spent some time designing my first PCB. No I wanted to send it to production at jlcpcb and the online gerber view gives me the following error:

Gerber_BoardOutline.GKO(Board Outline Layer):Gerber file with a board outline