Power Supply Caps Bad - What's the Cause?

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hi Everyone- Opened up my network streamer tonight to just look around and discovered that 8 capacitors on the power supply board are bad....leaked everywhere. I'm capable of replacing them but am curious if there is a greater problem with the unit. The device is maybe 4-5 years old. Seems a little early for those to go bad but I'm a novice with this stuff and would appreciate any input.
Thanks.

Sometimes a bad lot of caps gets produced. About 12 years ago I had a 3 year old Dell computer with a bunch of bad caps. I did a google on this and found something about Dell geting a huge batch of caps that were failing early. Oh not bad enough to force a recall
just be a pain in the *** for customers with out of warranty dead boards.

Thanks for the responses!

I'm having a tough time getting a decent picture. But the caps I'm referring to are in the foreground. I don't think it's glue as none of the other caps in the unit show any sign of this substance. Almost looks like someone spilled a coke on the these sections.

If this is actually bad capacitor, it's sort of a revelation to me, as several months ago I had trouble with the noise floor in my system. I communicated several times with the maker of the unit, because I thought I had a ground issue. I never fully resolved the issue, just wrote it off as something to live with. Now having seen this, perhaps this is the culprit. I ordered $6 bucks of replacements last night, and I'm gonna do the replacement.

Messed up my previous attachment.

Attachments

• 1019191625.jpg
    1019191625.jpg
    869.9 KB · Views: 171
Aha...I'll leave them be, then.

Why would the manufacturer glue just a handful of caps and not the rest? There are several other caps on the power supply board that have nothing on them. Are there critical caps for a component that require extra TLC?