Calculating values for a capacitance multiplier

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hi!

First off, I am a bit of a novice when it comes to building power supplies, and my research area is definitely not in audio. I have a specification to get a very low output voltage ripple on a high voltage power supply and have stumbled across the use of a capacitor multiplier to do this. I am not even sure if these circuits would be applicable at high voltages, but the student in me is intrigued about how the circuits are obtained and I'd like to do some simulations to understand their working, and see if they are applicable.

While doing some research online I see a lot of recommended circuits, which use a large array of different capacitor configurations and values, with no explanation on how these values were reached considering the output voltage, input voltage, frequency of the supply, etc. Is there any such guide for this online, or can someone give me some general hinters?

Thanks!
J :D

Depending on the voltage and output current, a double-sided Cockroft-Walton voltage multiplier is often useful. It sounds to me that your interest is more of academic nature for understanding the operation rather than for a particular practical application?

Yes, you are correct. Although it is hoped in a couple of years I can build the supply. The output that requires the very high attenuation (50mV) is a 5kV output, with 50W of power, so 10mA of current. I also wish to switch at a high frequency (currently 180kHz).

I will look into your suggestion - I have only heard of the standard CW multiplier. I doubt it could achieve this low ripple value, though? I was thus looking for maybe "active" filtering techniques to further reduce to acceptable levels.

The application is for a travelling wave tube, which is very noise sensitive, btw.

Thanks for your suggestion!