Discover the output capacity of PC linear power supply

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
I hope I am asking the question in the right forum. I bought recently a second hand audiophile server made by a small Dutch company. I do not have documentation but I could identify immediately that they are of very good quality. The server uses a Jetway embedded low power mini ITX board and a custom-made linear power supply with a toroidal transformer.

As the current CPU is not very recent, my idea would be to upgrade this part of the system in the future. The issue I have is that I don't know if I can go towards a higher power Mobo/CPU. I managed to identify the transformer and it is a 120va 2x12V.

I am new to this stuff and trying to learn, but is there a way I can identify the maximum load the power supply can provide. The current CPU is a Celeron 10W TDP.

Unsure if you have any measurement equipment, but it would be good to know the actual current flowing from those "2X12V" windings. That's good data to have for the current situation.

You can always try to find a mobo / processor combo where the proc is maybe an i5 upgrade from the Celeron, with the same or similar TDP. Look up your Celeron performance on PassMark Software - CPU Benchmark Charts. Do the same for your candidate i5 replacement - you'll see the TDPs listed there.

How many simultaneous audio streams do you need from this server? You might be surprised at what the OEM's choice of the Celeron can do.

The power supply may use off the shelf linear regulator chips, and possibly a switch mode pre regulator to get 5 volts from a 12 volt transformer secondary. Get the part numbers off of these chips and look up their specs.