LADSPA plugin programming for Linux audio crossovers

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
I've recently become interested in trying to put together a Linux based computer for processing audio into different streams - a PC crossover.

This is a new direction for me, moving away from the DSP hardware solutions that I have been using for the last few years, but I have some experience in C/C++ programming and have found a few examples on the web of what is possible and these are very encouraging. I have an idea for a new way to PC based loudspeaker crossovers using my Active Crossover Designer tools (ACD).

I have discovered the LADSPA plugins that will, for instance, execute one of a number of filter blocks on a stream of digital data, for example a second order Butterworth highpass filter. This is way too specific of a filter implementation. I have been working with IIR DSP for awhile now and I'm quite familiar with IIR biquad coefficients. My crossover software, ACD, calculates the IIR biquad coefficients from more familiar filter descriptors and makes them available to the user. What I am looking to create is a new plugin that takes the biquad coefficients as input directly. The code for the plugins that I have looked just calculates the coefficients from other parameters, like the type of filter (second order high pass Butterworth) and one or more parameters (filter corner frequency and gain). My "generalized biquad" plugin would simply take the five (normalized form) coefficients as parameters and then would use them directly. These are the same five parameters that miniDSP uses, with a few sign changes, so miniDSP biquads could be imported as well.

Once this new plugin has been created, the doors are open to implementing a complete crossover in Linux using an approach like what is done here:
Digital Crossover/EQ with Open-Source Software: HOWTO | Richard's Stuff