How to connect PC to coax SPDIF DAC & questions about music servers

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hi all

I am defining a PC music server to feed my DIY AD1865 NOS SRPP DAC which has only a coax SPDIF input, but I like it a lot.

The system should
- possibly handle video but be very good for Audio (got no TV now ;)), so not really a HTPC
- be as much as possible low power and silent PC as will be in the lounge but with a limited budget, if possible below 500 - 600 $
- be able to serve as a (maybe limited) NAS for music, pictures and other documents. Expected 2 x 3TB Sata Wester Digital Caviar Green + external backup, preferably USB 3.0
- run an easy form of LINUX (eg Vortexbox with automated CD ripping, CMP with RAM reading instead of HDD reading, Voyage MPD, ... ?) as I have no experience with this OS, or alternatively Windows 7 or Home Server 2011, but then cash out again and the necessity it seems to disable many functions you have paid for to keep the sonics good, if you have an idea for what is the best OS for me, please tell me !

I have looked at motherboard but I need some advices :
- Most of MB have only USB out, but I would like to avoid to buy a USB/SPDIF convertor, good ones are not cheap, and keep it simple
- Some MB have a Toslink SPDIF
.. is there a way I could pick the data signal before the toslink to feed the coax ? or use some "header" on board, some ASUS boards have such things ?
.. is it better to add a PCI or PCIe board with the coax SPDIF ? (tks for reference)
.. or to buy a sound card eg ESI Juli@ even if I do not intend to use the analog output ? would be a bit of a waste...
- I could not find current MB with coax SPDIF, maybe you would have a suggestion ?