alternative mosfets for Zen amp

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
hi everyone,
I want to build the zen amp, but in my area (north of Italy) it is quite difficult to find IRFP140, IRFP9240 and IRFP9140. (in fact, I found irfp9140, but they are too expensive 10 U$ each or so...)
I'd like to try IRF9540 + IRF540; they are really cheap and I can get them at my local store. I just need some suggestions, maybe other people tryied them out.

Do they sound well? Are there any electrical "troubles" or things I should know about these MOSFETs?
Looking at the datasheets, I think I probably can put them into the circuit and they'll work just fine without changing other components.
Please send me your comments and suggestions !

P.S.: I've been building every kind of loudspeakers for many years but just one (bad) MOS amplifier !

irf 540 _ ZEN

HI!

I've used the irf540 in my first version of my SOZ, and it worked quite well. I guess it would work in the zen also. BUT, the irfp 140 is by far better sounding in my opinion. If I were in your position, I would toss out the extra $, knowing that it would work, and that it sounds better. It will be cheaper/easier to buy the best ones first, than to substitute later. Remember, the type of mosfet you use in this designs play a significant role in the performance/sound quality of the amp. I don't think this is the place to save money!

good luck!

ps! the to-247 casing on the irfp140 is by far superior to the to-220 casing on the irf540...

Hi Mad K,

Can you please explain why the TO-247 casing is better than the TO-220 casing?

Also I am looking at parts to built a Zen amp. The IRFP140 FET is too expensive (AUS$19) compared to the IRFP140N (AUS$5.40) . On the Fairchild data sheet for the IRFP140, this product is not recommended, possible substitute IRFP140N.