Wiring Auditorium Speakers

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hello Everyone,

First of all, this looks like a great forum and I'm excited to be a part of it. In many respects I'm a newbie so I appreciate your patience explaining stupid things to me :p

I'm involved in a school auditorium and we're completely reworking the sound system. I'm in need of a way to get the amplifiers to the speakers. We have several amps in the booth (back of auditorium) and all of the speakers are wired to a small panel at the front of the auditorium.

Currently we run a long snake from the booth to the front and plug the speakers into TRS (1/4" balanced) jacks in the snake. The cables connecting the speakers to these jacks are unbalanced, so I'm guessing the entire cable becomes unbalanced. These cables then run up to the booth and are connected to the amps with bare wire (though I would prefer using banana plugs in the future for ease of use). This system works, although it has its moments of being a little buggy.

I'm not entirely sure how bad or inefficient this setup is, but in any event I'm trying to eliminate the need to run this snake. There is a bunch of unused XLR cable that runs from the stage to the booth, through the walls (guessing it's 3-conductor, though I haven't checked). I want to know if I can use this cable to connect the speakers to the amps in the booth, because I'm really hoping to avoid (and might be completely unable to) run hundreds of feet of speaker cable.

So here are my questions:
1) Is the current system terrible, dangerous or just bad for some other reason?

2) Can I use the cable that's already running from the booth to the stage to connect the speakers to the amps?

Thanks very much :)

Administrator
Joined 2004
Paid Member
Hi BenTech, welcome to the forum.