adding mass to change driver parameters

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
I have never tried OB before and I want to experiment. For free. I have a collection of cheap and not so cheap drivers to use but none are specifically suited to OB (without eq), although some look like they might be close.

The main problem is low qts, as I would like to use little or hopefully no eq. Also, some of the drivers could use a reduction in fs. This brings up the question of adding weight to the driver cone to modify the parameters. I realize you can raise qts by adding a resistor in line but this is not a route I would like to consider unless absolutely necessary.

Here are my questions. If driver parameters are known, is there a formula to predict how weight will affect the modified parameters?

If specs are not known, is it worth it to measure them? Remember I am using some very cheap drivers for experimental purposes. I am wondering if there are loose guidelines based on cone area and estimated parameters.

I would imagine adding a significant amount of weight would raise the qms quite a bit, maybe unnaturally so. Will this affect the sound quality in a bad way?

What is the preferred method to add weight? Is it ok to glue objects like washers or coins in a symetrical fashion on the back of the cone or should a coating of something be added to the entire cone area?

Trial and error is king but most of the cones are paper and some are quite old. If I attach weight using tape that is sticky enough to keep the weight in place it will damage the paper cone when I remove it to permanantly attach the weight with glue.