Help w/ Totem Model 1 homage

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
I'm going to build a Totem Model 1 clone and I wonder if anyone has a diagram of the crossover.

I got the drivers pretty cheaply. Dynaudio 15W75-4 and Seas 25 TA/WGB-TO. Does anyone have the T/S for these drivers? I haven't had any luck searching online.

I'm new to crossover design so I'm going to design my own then compare to the original design. Any help appreciated.

The tweeters were modified by adding a back chamber at totem. There is some info on what is required somewhere on the internet but I can't remember where. I would be interested to see what they they did with the woofer in the crossover. According to Troels there are some resonances that need to be dealt with.

I haven't got a lot of stuff on that woofer:

705063d1537644466-built-totem-model-1-clone-dynaudio-15-75-jpg

The bass filter is usually about 1mH coil and 4.7R plus 10-15uF impedance correction, relying mostly on natural rolloff. About 7-10L reflex you'd think. Dynaudio used to do quite complicated tweeter filters, but not set in stone IMO. Probably a third order would work well enough.

The tweeter is standardish 1" SEAS metal stuff. Shouldn't be too hard to knock up a 3kHz crossover. I'd set up a sim to see how it looks:
Software | Visaton

The Visaton SC10N is not hugely different from SEAS 1" tweeters. The W130S-4 might give you an idea too. After that you just wing it a bit.

SEAS 5INCH

Last edited:
I wouldn't losee too much sleep over a little back chamber on the tweeter, Just controls the Fs resonance a bit better. SEAS do it as standard these days:
H1147-06 27TBC/G

Your crossover will look a bit like this:

694035d1532786073-sb26adc-compared-sb29rdc-3rd-kef-style-png

But different bass filter, drivers and positive polarity on tweeter. Shouldn't be hard to modify the default project in boxsim to see how it works.