HiVi F10

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hello all...
I am not new to speaker design but I am no pro either!
I was given some interesting brand new and some used speakers, and in the lot, two brand spanking new HiVi F10

So in orders to design a ported enclosure I went to different online box calculator and found that the results of these calculators are quite different!

The problem I see is that those online calculators don't tell you what alignement and type of curve they are aiming for.

Has anyone here have some experience with the F10?

The Fs is 30hZ and so is F3 and Fb (31Hz) but most of the calculators ends up with a Fr of 49Hz and up.

There is something I don't get here...
I would like these to handle the bass up to about 200hZ and I understand that it can come a bit on the big side but I have the space.

Any idea, comment, suggestion?
Thanks, Luc

Solen's web site has 3 different alignments for that woofer.

Woofer application

I have the HiVi W10 woofer in a 60L enclosure and the frequency response is very close to what is listed in the table.

Thanks CNAU, I have been looking for this chart on the Solens site for a while!

But now I am a bit confused, the alignments suggested are 35,23 or 29 litres.
You mentionned that you are using a 60 litres enclosure, which is not listed and yet you have a very close response to the solens chart.

Can you expand on this?

I have the space for 60 litres but If I can make the box 30 litres without compromise in the bass end then I'll go smaller! :)

By the way, the manufacturer recommand a 63 (or so) litres box but does not state the size of the port.

I found a few online calculator by googling "Online speaker enclosure calculator"

This is the one that gives me 'strange' results Speaker Box Enclosure Designer / Calculator
But it is very informative on many aspect and also it helps figuring the plans for a cut sheet!