3-way to 2-way colums, upgrade ?

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hi guys,

It may be a dumb question, but i don't know much ... Beginner here :p

I have this combo in my room atm :
3 way columns, Davis Acoustics Maya (80w, 91dB, 45Hz-21kHz, 300/300Hz, 7" low, 7" mid, 1" tweeter, unknown volume)
Onkyo TX-NR906 amp

Using it for music and movies, hopefully will get a complete 5.1/7.2 some day, but that's not the point atm :)

My question is, would it be possible to get better columns with a 500$ limit ? DIY, obviousbly !
Should i go 2-way to reduce costs and, in the end, get a better result ? :confused:

I don't really know anything, it's quite confusing for me, so i'm hoping to get some help / hints on what to do !
It would be my second project, but first columns. I have a pair of 2-way bookshelves on the way, for my desk.
So, not afraid of the complexity !

Thanks guys :)
I hope the post in the right place.

Regards,
Laurent

Last edited:
Competing with commercial products at relatively low price points is difficult.

Some pictures of the inside of your speakers: Davis Acoustics Maya
I see two compromises in the Davis speaker which you could improve:

1) A 7" mid is used up to 3 kHz, at which it beams. Then it transitions to a 1" dome tweeter with wide dispersion. Therefore the dispersion is not constant with frequency. A solution would be to use a smaller mid or to use a waveguide tweeter. It would need a redesign of the crossover to work.

2) The crossover is simple with only five components and therefore likely to be prone to improvement. Filtering appears to be:
- woofer: 1st order low pass - does not suppress cone resonance at 4.5 kHz
- midrange: 2nd order low pass (no high pass :confused: which could explain the high low frequency distortion)
- tweeter: 2nd order high pass
Despite the simplicity it appears to be well tuned, within the limitations that five components allow.