3 way with very simple filters/xo

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Joined 2018
Paid Member
Hello community.

Apologies from the off if my descriptions and or nomenclature is a little off as I am new to this.

I bought a pair of Seas L22 RNX/P 8ohm woofers. They came from a seller on eBay whom had used for testing purposes. They were a steal.

The seller seems very knowledgeable and tells me he has spent 25 years designing speakers.

I asked his advice on best application for these and the answer was to use these in a 3 way that he has experience with. Whether actual or simulated I don't know.

The advice I recieved was...

Suggested ideal midrange driver - SEAS 120mm model MCA 12 RC

Suggested ideal tweeter - Scan - Speak 19mm fabric dome model D2010 / 851100 ( available from Falcon Acoustics for example )

Enclosure 30litres

Floor standing cabinet the most practical , but the woofer AND the midrange drivers should be angled back 30 degrees from the vertical . with the design placing the midrange driver at the same height as your ears at your typical seated listening position.
The tweeter should be on a perpendicular panel , "pointing" parallel with your room floor.
The drivers should be mounted with the chassis as close as practical to each other ,( i.e. minimum gaps ), in a vertical array.

Crossover approximate guide values ; ( All 1st order / 6db per octave )

Woofer - run direct. If you really feel the need to tame the upper break - up then use the lowest - loss ferrite core inductor you can find of around 1 mH value.

Midrange - trial @ 7uF capacitor value. Fine - tune with values of 1uF either side of this value.

Tweeter - Trial @ 2.5uF. Fine tune with increments of around 0.2 uF each stage.

Use the best quality polypropylene capacitors you can afford . ( generally rated @ 100v or greater for this application ).