Lowther and 12” Woofer on Boston Acoustics A150 Cabinet

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hi!

I’d like to ask some questions regarding a project I had in mind consisting of a Lowther dx55, a bass helper woofer (10 or 12”) inside a clone of a Boston Acoustics A150 Cabinet.

I’m moving to a small apartment and what attracted me to the BA 150 is the size it’s just 32” h x 16.5” w x 8” d. My target listening space is a measly 7 ft x 7 ft space so I’m going to be pushing these project speakers up the wall hence the need for a slim wide baffle.

Also intrigued by the design in which the drivers are on an “infinite baffle” that can aid in diffraction (Please correct me if I’m wrong as I’m a newbie). Also read up that having the woofer close to the floor can aid it in boundary reinforcement and efficiency (Again, do correct me if I’m wrong). It’s also a sealed design which is okay for me as I can be fairly happy if it plumbs down to 45hz.

Also I’m using a DIY SET amplifier with a 6c33c tube outputting 15 watts that’s why I’m using lowthers so I can have that efficient, point source midrange sound. I’ll be using a MINIDSP to mate it with a 10 or 12” woofer.

A local builder will be helping me with the cabinets but I’ll probably tune these using the minidsp.

Priority for me would be:

A.) Efficiency so I can use the SET Tube amp.
B.) Crossing the Lowthers at around 200 - 300hz or lower (so I can have a crossoverless midrange)
C.) Small (thin) Dimensions

Here’s a couple of build questions:

1.) Can’t seem to find data on what stuffing or what cabinet internals the A150 has. Can you guys refer me to a sealed build like this or data on how I should construct the insides? My local builder suggested using deflex or rock wool on the opposite baffle.