I'm ready for a line array project

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
OK I'm a newbie, but I was born with a set of ears about 50 years ago. This all started when I moved the current system and stole my kids amp/speakers and combined the systems. Current stuff is a couple of Adcom amps, a Nikko preamp, a couple of decent JBL's studio's and a couple of Klipsch tower's. The most noticable thing was the sound when the Klipsch's were mounted on the JBL's. The sound was vastly improved. That being said, and not wanting to screw them together (they'll walk right off), I started to investigate line array speakers.

Well, I've done my archive search. So here's the current status. Today I purchased about 60 of those close out Pioneer 269-568 extended range 4" drivers (http://www.partsexpress.com/pdf/269-568.pdf). They're about a buck and a half by the time they get here. My thoughts are to build 2 speakers (~ 12-16 drivers per speaker) and then use the balance in a second set somewhere else. My listening room is 16'w x 8.5'h x 26' long. I'll most likely drive them with the Adcom 5500 that's about 200w/c @ 8 and 300 @ 4. So now I need a low end and a top end. For the low end I'm thinking about using the JBL's or stealing the last remaining item from my son (he's in the Navy), a powered sub.

What I need:
1. A tweeter solution, cheap pricing to match the extended drivers price point. Goldwoods? Pioneers? This solution will clearly impact the enclosure design, so I will need to know the numbers of tweeters to install in each speaker.
2. Enclosure ideas. Open vs. closed? Baffled?
3. Advice on the face layout of the speaker enclosures. Specifically, the location of the tweeters relative to floor.
4. Your suggested crossover frequencies for the extended range/tweeter circuit.

What I have: