Newbie Questions on building an OB speaker

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hi, I'm a complete novice at speaker building, OB or otherwise, but I think that I would like to give it a try. The speakers would be used in a small room around 10 x 12 but with a vaulted ceiling. I am also experimenting with some absorbent room treatment panels. My amp is a 2 watt Decware SE84.

Based on info I read in some of the audio blogs I bought a pair of Wild Burro Betsy drivers that I installed in simple plywood baffles. These speakers really sound great with my amp. They have a large sound stage and image fairly well. What they lack is bass. I would like to add drivers to help with this that would be driven by a separate subwoofer plate amp. I am thinking about using Hawthorn Augies. If there are better choices in the Augies price range please let me know. Where I need help is what would be the best way to implement them. Should they be built into the same baffle as the Betsy's or should they have their own baffle? I would prefer to use the same baffle because of room size but I want to avoid any interference that they may cause to the Betsy's. I don't want to use a crossover on the Betsy's because my amp is only putting out 2 watts.

Any help on how I should go about adding some more bass to my system would be greatly appreciated.

OB with Sub

Hi, I'm a complete novice at speaker building, OB... My amp is a 2 watt Decware SE84. What they lack is bass. ...I would like to add drivers to help with this that would be driven by a separate subwoofer plate amp. ...I don't want to use a crossover on the Betsy's because my amp is only putting out 2 watts.

Any help on how I should go about adding some more bass to my system would be greatly appreciated.