Horn lens experience - mixing lows and highs with a JBL 2390

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
I'm new to CDs and Horns.

I'm thinking about a coax CD playing through a JBL 2390 horn lens. The idea is to smooth response in general and disperse the high frequencies. The JBL document shows pretty good dispersal of 10K. This would be for home use. The only report I found cautions against beaming with coax CDs (BMS 4590 for example).

The ideal is to use a separate driver for bass with an active XO.

I'm wondering if anyone's tried this route, and what people's experience is in general with horn lens CD combos.

I'm thinking about a coax CD playing through a JBL 2390 horn lens. The idea is to smooth response in general and disperse the high frequencies. The JBL document shows pretty good dispersal of 10K. This would be for home use. The only report I found cautions against beaming with coax CDs (BMS 4590 for example).

I'm wondering if anyone's tried this route, and what people's experience is in general with horn lens CD combos.
The JBL 2390 horn lens has a sound I would describe as "warm and fuzzy".

It does have wide dispersion, but just does not sound "real", compared to the same driver, same horn, lens removed.

I have used the 2385, 2390, 2308, and the 2301 "potato masher".

They all sound goofy, but not unpleasant.

An approach best left back in the 1970s.

I would not recommend a horn lens to anyone who is interested in accurate reproduction of recorded (or live) sound.

Art Welter

I have found that diffraction lenses of the sort that use the "venetian blind" approach have multiple problems, not the least of which is the vibration of the metal parts... they might be somewhat better if well damped by some means...