Using Circuits And Copyright Issues

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
COUNTLESS times I have given amp comanies and online electronical buffs ideas and designs and they've been used.

My problem is that my education in audio/musical electronics is that of a novice hobbyist. So I am at the mercy of the internet and all the ppl good enough to offer their circuits and expertise.

Here's the issue. I have been given the opportunity to design and build an amp. Since I am not an engineer this means using FREELY POSTED CIRCUITS FOUND ONLINE.

Now once these circuits are combined and I've made some mods and alterations, I am clear of breaking copyright laws.

However, I know how I felt when my designs were used and the conditions I made if they were to be used were not fullfilled. (CRATE!!!!!!!)

The difference here is the circuits I'm using were GIVEN to EVERYONE. The sites I pulled them from clearly said feel free to use them and modify them.

Sooooo, once I do this and if by chance my amp went to market, am I going to have these ppl angry over this???

I mean they say yes I can use it, anyone can, but if I were to profit from it they are going to have issue? If so why even give this information away???

I'm just trying to get my feet on the ground and possibly get an income.

Bottom line is the major guitar and music related corporations producing gear get a lot of their circuits and product ideas online from DIY sites such as this one.

So what's everyones feelings on this??????

I'm not a lawyer, so take these comments in that context:

You cannot copyright a circuit. You can copyright a board pattern or a particular drawing (e.g., a schematic).

A circuit may or may not be patentable, but you lose many rights by disclosing it before patenting. Patents are expensive and normally difficult to enforce.

Right on

Thanks, I was also familar with this much information though.