Loud crackling on Fender Frontman 212R

Hi all,

Semi-noob here, please excuse my ignorance. I recently came into a Fender Frontman 212R that has issues.

I power the amp on and the speakers immediately emit a wild, loud crackling sound. I've done some sleuthing... so far here's what I've found...

The pre output is clean, if I plug my guitar in and listen it sounds perfect. I tested the resistance of the speakers themselves and they are reading well. Checking voltage on the outputs confirms wild voltage fluctuations.

I have wiggled all board components and found nothing loose, also no burn marks on any components. Caps are not bulging and appear normal. I have checked continuity on the output transistors, nothing there.

Any thoughts on what this could be? Seems like it must be something in the output stage...

Thanks in advance for your guidance and input!

Attaching a picture of the board for reference:
IMG-6229.jpg

Quite probably frayed tinsel wires in the speakers.
Put amp on a table, with the back/speakers towards you.
Turn room lights OFF or leave just some desk lamp pointing at a faraway wall/door/curtain so ambient light is dim, and turn amp on.

You should see tiny blue sparks coming from inside speaker backs.

If so, they can be replaced.

Speaker%20lead%20wire.jpg

Last edited:
Quite probably frayed tinsel wires in the speakers.
Put amp on a table, with the back/speakers towards you.
Turn room lights OFF or leave just some desk lamp pointing at a faraway wall/door/curtain so ambient light is dim, and turn amp on.

You should see tiny blue sparks coming from inside speaker backs.

If so, they can be replaced.

If I am reading fluctuating voltage off the amp, would this not rule out failure in the speakers?

Not necessarily, full power "explosions" connecting/disconnecting speakers will be reflected in power supply voltages.

But instead of typing here, why don´t you actually test it?
It takes all of 5 minutes.