Setting bias on bass power amp

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
I'm trying to repair a power amp board from a Trace Elliot GP12 SMX AH250 bass head. The power MOSFETs are J50 and K135s. Both the K135s have failed. I'm planning to replace them with Exicon ECF10N20s as these seem to be the only readily available replacement.

Trace-Elliot-Power-Board-Schematic-PB250.jpg

My first question is to check that I should replace all the MOSFETs (i.e. with 2 x ECF10N20 and 2 x ECF10P20) as they need to be matched and can't get away with just replacing the K135s.

My next question is that I understand I would need to bias the MOSFETs once I have done the replacement, via the 220ohm trimpot. However, I have no idea how to do this as I have no experience with power amps. I understand one method is to adjust just enough to remove crossover distortion, which I can understand and can see how to do. The other method relates to setting drain current, but I'm not sure how I would physically go about doing this given the design of the PCB, as there are no resistors in the path between the rails and the drain - do I have to break a track? I'm also not sure which transistors I should measure - TR6, TR7, TR8 or TR9 or what sort of value I would need to aim for.

Any help would be gratefully received.

Yup. You have a "production optimised" circuit. With no easy way to measure the bias current (amongst other sins).

The only option you have is to start at 220 ohm and reduce only as far as to make it sound "not too ugly".

The other problem you may have (and I'm not going to do your homework for you) is that changing output transistors will likely affect the stability of the amp. If they have more gain or are faster you're going to have to tweak the circuit a bit

Thanks for the clarification on setting the bias, that helps a lot.