Instrument single input channel selector pedal switch

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hello world,

I'm currently working on a project for a buddy/band-member of mine. He plays 4 instruments (2 banjos, mandolin and a saw); we're currently working on electrifying all of them. Anyways...

What I'm working on is a 4 channel foot switch selector (4 individual "sends"), with one 1/4" input and 4 outs. What I'm having trouble with is achieving the correct "wiring" or schematic that would allow for 1 of the 4 selectors to pass signal at a time. For example, if one of the switches were engaged and then a different one was triggered on, the previous engaged switch would be triggered off.

I have been trying to figure it out on my own, but this is my first project. I've been working with 3pdt switches, but because of the latching, the user of the switcher would have to learn tap dancing; and we just don't have time for that. If I use momentary switches, he would have to keep his foot down the entire performance, and that's the only way he keeps time; and again, we don't have the time for that.

So, I've been looking into arduino based programming to achieve this, but there are two major questions when going that route. One, do I really need an arduino to achieve what I'm envisioning, or is there a way to wire some foot switches that I haven't discovered yet? And two, if the arduino is the route to take, what code do I use to achieve said goal?

Any, and all, advice is much appreciated. Thanks!!!!!

Kevin

So, essentially it’s would act like a 1 in 4 out audio splitter, but instead of having 4 lines passing signal, only one line would be passing signal. That one signal would be determined by its corresponding foot switch.