Go Back   Home > Forums > >

Tang-Band W5-2143 5" Full-range
Tang-Band W5-2143 5" Full-range
Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 21st January 2017, 07:17 AM   #1
JoeHollis is offline JoeHollis  Canada
diyAudio Member

Default Tang-Band W5-2143 5" Full-range

Hello,

I am helping a friend renovate a basement room for a home theatre. I am going to help him build his own surround speakers to save some money. I have seen a few comments on the above 5" speaker. Would this be a good choice for the surround speakers? Neither of us know anything about designing speakers or crossovers. He wants to put speakers in the ceiling as well for Dolby Atmos I think.

Thank you for your help.

Joe H.
Old 21st January 2017, 12:16 PM   #2
majerjack is offline majerjack  United States
diyAudio Member

First, the disclaimers: I have no experience with home theater. I am strictly a two-channel listener to music. In addition, I am not as experienced with full range speakers as some members on this forum. I offer my opinions based on my experience and my personal preferences.

The Tang Band W5-2143 is the best full range speaker I have heard. It presents excellent sound on all the material I have played through it, offers illuminating detail, and has very good response off axis. I found the sound to be very consistent at both low and high volume levels, never sounding strained or congested. Its one weakness is bass response: due to the cone size and limited Xmax it does not produce much bass, but that is easily remedied by incorporating a supporting woofer. I like this speaker so much that I am making it the centerpiece of a total reconstruction of my home listening system.