What type should I build?...newbie here...

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hello!

First post...I found diyaudio by stumbling across the Wild Burro Audio labs site which turned me onto building myself a pair of open baffle speakers...or something else...?

The room where the speakers will live is relatively small (12x18').

The speakers will be powered by a miniwatt N3.

So...what type of speakers should I build? It's my understanding that the design on the Wild Burro site requires more space between the wall and the speaker? Would it make more sense for me to go with a closed speaker design? I'm in a small apartment now and I'm buying a house soon but I can't imagine I'd ever have much space for a pair of speakers that need to be placed in the middle of the room.

So what I'd like help with is what kind of drivers I should buy and what kind of speakers I should build. It would be cool to use the Wild Burro speakers since he seems like a nice guy and they're made in the USA...which I think are both important.

I should also mention that I am a cabinet maker and I own a wood shop. All I need is someone to tell me what to do, I can build pretty much anything. Plans would help though...:)

Thank you all in advance for the help and please let me know if you need any more details.

BB

Mike BB,

Wecome! :)

No experience with the Wild Burro Audio drivers or open baffles, but read that they need some space from the back walls.

My first full-range DIY build was the BiB (Bigger is Better) design, which is pretty large in size (65" tall) but resonable footprint (11" x 16" IIRC). The build was for a friend and the drivers I used were Fostex FEE166EN. The BiB cabinet is pretty simple to build and they played very nicely with the Mini-watt N3. If placed 8-9' apart the should be reasonably close to corners in your room and have nice imaging.