Help a newb pick a first project...

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hows it goin guys? First off, I'm not a complete newb to audio or box building but I want to try and take my skills to the next level by building something a little (maybe alot) more complicated. Here are a few boxes I've built before, mostly ported car audio for teenagers that like the boom...

ef423f22.jpg

DSCF2329Large.jpg

DSCF8139Large.jpg

P1080304Large.jpg

I have been looking around at some full range speakers and just dont know where to start. I have an Onkyo TX-SR508 A/V receiver that will power whatever I build for now then later down the line I'd like to do some sort of DIY amplifier.

Anyways, to start off with I was going to buy a pair of the Fostex FE103En and build the back loaded horn that they recommend in the manual.

I litterally have no reason for choosing that driver other than price and the fact that there is a box design in the manual. Thats how lost I am when it comes to home audio like this.

I just wanted to make sure that this was an acceptable first project for a newb. I have never heard a quality setup before in my life so I'm sure whatever comes out of these will sound great to me.

I'd like suggestion on what to do differently, maybe different drivers or enclosures. I'll post up some pics of whatever I end up with. I have set myself a spending limit of $100 for the speakers.

Thanks for your time guys...

Hi and welcome :)

Very nice job on the routing of the speaker baffle holes in those subs.

I actually have _less_ builds under my belt than you, but they're both of the kind you wish to build now so i'll provide my feedback :p

Fostex is an excellent choice as a first home audio system, the two speakers i bought both sound very good imho (FE167 and FF85-WK).

I think you could give a shot at the fancier boxes like