Question for someone who is intimately familiar with how auto calibration software w

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
I have always wondered why all (at least the ones I have played with Audyssey, MCCAC YPAO) the auto calibration software seems to only run a single pass per channel? Yes I know some of them will allow you to adjust the position of the mic and run multiple passes but that is not what I am referring to.

As a software developer myself, I would think that the calibration software would run multiple passes per channel. The first with no calibration to analyze the raw signal of all the components in the circuit. It would then apply the correction it decided was best and run the analysis a second time to see how well it did. If needed it would apply additional correction and try the analysis again. It would do this until it couldn't get any better or "n" times whichever came first. I am familiar with the law of diminishing returns, but I have also seen people pay thousands of dollars for power cords.

I just can't imagine that every combination of components would behave in a similar manner to the corrections applied. If this assertion is true having the software run successive passes using the previous results as the base for the current pass, seems as though it would provide better results.

It would then apply the correction it decided was best and run the analysis a second time to see how well it did.
It doesn't need to do this because the system is considered to be free from significant nonlinear distortion. Then linear systems theory applies and it tells us once you have the raw transfer function and apply changes to it (mag and phase), the real response does not differ from an emulated one obtained by convolution.