Audio/acoustics career path question

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hey all, I'm interested in any advice, opinions, and experiences on this one, so please chime in with any insight you have.

I'm currently considering re-education to further my career path.

I have a bachelors degree in music (composition was the focus) where I learned quite a bit about digital signal processing, psychoacoustics, and basic musical acoustics.

I've been working (fairly happily) as a cook for the past 10 years or so (during my music degree too). But as time passes I keep coming to the realization that this field is not where my heart really lies. I'm a foodie nerd who loves creating crazy food (read through www.erichedekar.com for a virtual taste) but it's just a pleasure for me, not my true passion.

Lately I've been re-engineering my car's audio and acoustics (the project is seriously too large for what it needs to be, but I'm having so much fun doing it). This has led me to remember the passion I have for acoustics and audio.

I'm considering enrolling in (well, I'm fairly sure I'm going to at this stage) a bachelors degree in engineering to get the technical understanding of this world more solidified. The school that I'm going to (for various reasons) is Simon Fraser University SFU Home Page - SFU - Simon Fraser University which specializes in electrical engineering.

My question(s) to this forum audience is/are: What realistic audio career options are available to someone with a music degree and an electrical engineering degree? and which of these SFU engineering paths would probably be best for this:
Electrical Engineering,
Systems Engineering,
Mechatronics/Business Dual Degree,
Physics Engineering
All of the advisors I talked to were unsure of which direction would be most suitable.