VTVM accuracy for very low AC?

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
I recently purchased a Heathkit IM-18 VTVM . I did a thorough cleaning, visual exam, component check and calibration. The tubes have tested and passed. Cross tested performance against a Fluke 179 . -- Ohms and DC functions are very acceptable. However I am confounded by its inaccuracy in the lower ranges of AC signal testing.

Inputting AC from a Variac yields very accurate results in the higher ranges. For the lower 5v and 1.5v ranges, I input a 1kHz sine wave with a signal generator . The accuracy of readings below 5 volts are about 20% lower than the DMM. A larger 30% error discrepancy is seen on the 1.5v range. In other words, 650mV on the DMM is seen as 500mV on the VTVM.

Is such an error normal for this "service grade" meter??. Is this characteristic of old VTVMs? (I've never used one before) Or, is it a malfunction that can be repaired? Either way, this may be an opportunity for me to learn something.

I don't know if there is a role for a VTVM in my serious amateur electronics adventures, but its very high input impedance is attractive and, like me, it is 'vintage'. I guess I'll stick with my DMMs unless this is something that can be corrected/improved.

Thanks for your advice

attached schematic:

Attachments

• im-18.pdf
    545.7 KB · Views: 110
Joined 2004
Paid Member
It uses a simple vacuum tube rectifier for AC which will show some error for low AC voltages from its internal drop. I had one in the '70s and it was adequate for basic service but not for anything requiring precision. Then again the alternative was a Simpson which also had limitations.

It won't replace a decent dvm which can be pretty cheap today.

PRR

Joined 2003
Paid Member
... 650mV on the DMM is seen as 500mV on the VTVM....