Dynamic displacement vs resistance vs temperature measurement for ribbon transducer

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hello DIYAudio members,

I am an engineering student at Purdue University and am interested in doing an experimental analysis of ribbon transducers to contrast with simulations. This data could be made available to the community to aid in transducer development.

A ribbon transducer consists of a rectangular element of metal foil suspended within a magnetic gap and clamped at its ends (ie a clamped-clamped membrane). Current is applied to the foil, which produces an electromagnetic field that interacts with the magnetic field generated by the permanent magnets. The foil bends in response to this force.

Assuming it is used as a loudspeaker, current is applied to the foil to create sound pressure. The loudspeaker is <10% efficient due to the poor membrane-fluid coupling, which results in a majority of the energy being converted to heat. Resistance increases with temperature, which results in clipping of the waveform. I'd like to measure this effect.

A modal analysis could be conducted with the use of a scanning laser vibrometer system. This would appear sufficient for the task.
PSV-400-3D Polytec Scanning Vibrometer - Features

A dynamic displacement vs resistance vs temperature measurement of the foil would appear to be valuable. However, I'm not sure what other instrumentation would be required or how to set up such an experiment.

Any thoughts?

Best Regards,
Thadman:D

Honestly, if you have to explain to someone what a ribbon speaker is, they are not likely to have answers to your questions.

Addressing your points of study: