Musical Fidelity X-RAY v8 Tweak

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hello,

I recently purchased an MF X-Rayv8 CD Player and would like to tweak it a little bit.
For those who do not know this machine, the toroid transformer is housed in a separate enclosure.

As I am not very experienced on this subject I will post what I think I understood, what I think I should upgrade and ask some questions afterwards.
Thank you in advance for your patience.

I enclose a phot of the player's interior and determined 4 areas:
1) Pink area: is main PSU incl. drive supply
2) Blue area: is digital conversion
3) Yellow: I/V and pre-ou
4) Green: Digital out and control

1) 2 W04 bridges (280V/1,5A), two voltage regulators 78xx (could not read the voltage) with 2x100µF caps, respectively one 6800, 2200 and 1000µF caps. All caps Jamicon, non polarized.

2) 1 3,3Vpos LF-33CV voltage regulator, 2 oscillators, one I assume for the drive at 24.576Mhz and one for the SRC4193 sample rate converter and PCM1738 DAC at 16,9344Mhz

3) Two 7815 Voltage regulators with 100F caps, 2 NE5532 for I/V and 2 NE5532 preamp, a bunch of resistors and yellow MKP or MKT caps. A couple of transistors I assume for muting.
100µF non polarized electrolytic cap before output.
Basically follows the PCM1738 application note.

4) I am not really interested in upgrading to the existing external DAC, but nevertheless DIT4096 digital transmitter. SPDIF output via Schott transformer, Toslink via TX176.

I would like to intervene in the areas as follows:

1) Replace rectifier Bridge with discrete soft recovery diodes (Fairchild stealth, Ixys). Nothing else for the moment, the unit is new and the caps even if not of best make should be OK as they are new.