Queries on Soekris DAM1021 module and Raspberry pi.

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
I have got my dam1021 module recently . I planning to connect it with rpi. I have googled but not much information on how to implement this. I am a novice in this field. There are some information in some forums, but those are too technical to be understood by a novice. Can someone please clarify followings:

1. Can I connect rpi through i2s interface or I need some SPDIF hat with rpi to connect dam1021. If it can be connected by i2s, is thete any diagram that can guide me. Will that degrade the sound Quality?
2. Will I need any driver for rpi if it is connected by i2s and where can I find that?
3. Is there any step by step guide to connect rpi with dam1021? I can do the rest of the jobs as enough information are there in the web.

You can connect directly via I2S - with good result. You need to connect four wires, not longer than max 10 cm between the two units. There you find the pins from the Raspberry to connect. The Raspberry Pi: Audio out through I2S | Dimdim's Blog
In the manual on the homepage from Soekris you will find the pins on the Dac to connect to. Here you also see the important part of feeding with 3.3 volt.
This page might be very helpful, even if it is not mentioning the Pi
Soekris dam 1021 R-2R DAC ILLUSTRATED GUIDE | H i F i D U I N O look for I2S isolated.
You then need to source the pi with software - here are several options, depending on what program you will use. Dietpi might be a good and pretty easy option for setting up the Pi. Volumio (who has a driver for the Soekris), Moode, and several other might also be options.
I have probably forgot something, that I am sure others will contribute with