New to all this, how to make my DAC's (WM8741) output useable?

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
(Sorry if this is the wrong part of the forum by the way. Please move it if it is)

Hi, total noob here.

I've recently started working on a USB connected DAC after I've learned how to use the PCB design software EAGLE.
As a big fan of music and anything that comes with it, so I decided that making something I would enjoy using myself could be a nice project.

Currently I've properly connected and controled the XMOS XHRA-2HPA USB Audio controler and have it connected to a WM8741 DAC chip. Only what I don't understand is how to make the output of the DAC usable (and keeping up the high quality output with low distortion).

The DAC comes with 4 outputs VOUTLP (Positive out left), VOUTLN (Negative out left), VOUTRP (Positive out right), VOUTRN (negative out left).
Can I just route these connections to two RCA jack connectors and plug those into my pre-amp?
Do I need to use an opamp? I've been looking into the OPA1622 but I don't really understand how the circuitry around it is supposed to work and/or how to design the proper circuitry for my application (The resistors and capacitors)

The main goal is to use this DAC for my speakers and possibly in the future allow it to also drive my headphones (Regular 32ohm ones, nothing special. But just getting it to work on my main speakers would be cool already)

Can anyone help a total noob out? I'm willing to learn, but no idea where to start.

Last edited:
Administrator
Joined 2007
Paid Member
This isn't directly my field of expertise but I think your first move has to be to determine what type of output the DAC is. Typically it may be a 'current' output and that in turn needs an opamp configured as an I/V convertor in order to get a normal voltage output to feed to the external world.

https://www.by-rutgers.nl/IV-converter.html