TDA1387 8x DAC Sync Problem

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hello Everyone,

I am relatively new to the world of building and modifying electronics and have gained most of my knowledge from DIY Audio. So, after reading some forums here, I recently decided to purchase an 8x TDA1387 DAC from Cart 100. I should note that I also added the optional USB CM6631 card.
Conceptually I like the idea of a PCM, continuous calibration DAC, as apposed to R2R or even S/D, and wanted to hear one for myself. My plan was to get it and modify it according to some suggestions made by abraxalito and others. Unfortunately I have not had much success getting it to work properly. abraxalito and others have been extremely helpful on another thread, but I thought I should start one just for these issues. At this point I have opened it and tinkered around enough that the warranty is void. Plus I bought this thing to modify it anyways.

http://www.diyaudio.com/forums/digital-source/261624-tda1387-continuous-calibration-dac.html

Attempt 1: DAC arrived, I plugged it into my raspberry pi2 running Moode audio via USB. It immediately drew so much power the Ethernet stopped working on the pi. (Since then I found the option in Moode to double the USB amps, but haven't tried this yet. I also may try a powered hub.). I fiddled around with it for a while, eventually hot plugged it (not recommended), and was able to get it to work with the pi, but only got digital static unless I set the SRC in Moode to 16bit 44.1k. While music sounded somewhat audible, there were constant clicks and pops plus the USB CM6631 should be able to handle up to 24bit 192k (Again this may be something to do with the pi's issues with USB. Also, I read that the CM6631 draws its power from the USB port and not from the DAC.)