Telephone Microphone Problem with low pass filter

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hello everyone!

First I must tell you guys that I'm very new at this, so sorry in advance!

I'm starting to put together this Telephone Microphones. They are very easy to do, just grab the two wires from the earpiece and solder them to a 1/4 inch jack, and viola!

The idea es to use it as a lowfi tool, but this earpieces of the phones tends to lead to some feedback so mounted a 100k potentiometer and a capacitor to make a RC lowpass filter to roll off a bit of the high frequiencies...aaaaand the issue appears. When I turn the pot up or down, it hums. When its on 10, the hum dissapears. I've tryed different wirings but nothing seems to work out. The impedance of the earpiece is very low, 20.5ohm, but I've try other earpieces with much more higher readings, and the same happens. Also, I've tried shielded wiring, but...THE SAME HAPPENS.

Now, since I couldn't solve this problem, I thougth that I could make the lowpass filter using a ON/ON switch, attaching the capacitor and a 100k resistor to one part of the switch, so you can select between the "normal" signal or the "filtered" signal.

I calculate that using a 100k resistor with the 2nF capacitor I can get a cuttoff frequency of around 800Hz, wich is what I was looking for.

So I tried to solder the components directly to the input jack to see if it worked out. The resistor in series and the capacitor in pararlel. Aaand it didn't affect the signal at all. I use a 0.1uF cap wich it should cuttoff the signal by 15Hz, basically killing the signal...aaand NOTHING! the signal was still there, unaffected.