Formula? Lining interior of sealed/ported cabinet.

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
I am making a cabinet for a Celestion F12-X200 speaker (this is an FrFr speaker).
I started following their suggested cabinet design (sealed, ported) but found
the dimensions to be not quite right for me.

So, being a programmer I writing a program that allows me to design a cabinet
for the F12-X200 (imperial / metric measurements, Yea from us state-side wood workers for Imperial!)
that allows me to design different sized cabinets, different configurations (Dual F12-X200's, Slant cabinets).

I am about 80% through the mathematics (TS, Tuning, Port Length,...) but in the back of my mind is the
fact that the Celestion Design for the F12-X200 calls for lining the inside of the cabinet with 'Polyfill'.
There is no property data given on the weight / density / thickness of the polyfill itself.

I somewhat understand what lining the interior of the cabinet with poly fill will do but it seems that the effect of it can only be arrived at via empirical data. meaning their is no real science or formulas behind it.
I constantly see sentences (on this four and others) such as:
- 'Most estimates say between 15-25% theoretical volume gain'.
- The use of 'estimates' and 'theoretical' in the same sentence somewhat bothers me.

I took a brief glance at WinISD (which seems to be a really old share-ware type application) and though I do
not have all of the required parameters from Celestion I see that they are applying some sort of formula:
- They use 'Qa' as 'absorption losses'.
It is my understanding that the value of Qa is reflected thusfully::
- 100. Bare Box
- 50. Lined Box
- 10. Stuffed but not over compressed.
- 5. Stuffed and compressed.

And that the lowering of Qa is seen at:
- SPL
- Impedence Charts
- Qtc

They of course are using a formula.