TI TPA3255 EVM - Need Help Troubleshooting

Hello,

I have the TI EVM3255 module that is not working and wondering if someone can help me troubleshoot the problem. I am a newbie in electronics and my knowledge is pretty much non-existent.

I bought the module but it was DOA. Texas Instruments sent me a replacement which is now working. I would like to fix the module rather than throwing it away. I need a subwoofer amp and this one will fit nicely.

When I turn on the amp, the FAULTz (D4) instantly lights up in red. No output at all when input and speakers are connected. Is it something that the faulty part/s can be identified? As someone who has zero knowledge, I do not know where to begin.

Any help is very much appreciated. Thanks!

I have a basic $15 meter, from Harbor Freight. Is that enough or do I need a more sophisticated one? I downloaded the User Manual from TI’s website and it has a schematic diagram. Although I must say, I do not have experience reading electronic schematic diagram, but willing to learn.

What I would do is trace the signal from the input moving forward. Put a white noise signal on the amp in question and the one that works. Compare the signal at several points along the path.
How familiar are you with using your multi-meter? It's not a bad idea to insulate all of the probe, leaving only enough metal to touch your test points. It can save you from shorting one component to another.
If the surface mount components are too small, I'd think twice about checking the signal on the good board. U1 looks like it could be very precarious to test with a regular meter probe. It looks like it would be very easy to accidentally short two legs together. Do that and you might release the magic smoke ;).
My method is far from ideal, but if you are determined to work on the bad amp and you don't have a schematic, it's the next best thing. However, do so at your own peril.
Mike

Founder of XSA-Labs
Joined 2012
Paid Member