DIY Portable Bluetooth Speaker (Y148 amp)

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hi,
I've got a spare in-wall speaker (Polk Audio MC85), and thougth I could try to do something fun with it.

My thoughts is to use a cooler box (25l) as an enclosure and use a Y148 together with a Bluetooth reciever board to make it bluetooth compatible.
I'm not quite sure what kind of battery to use, but I think I will use a 12v 7,2Ah SLA/AGM-battery, as this seems most straight forward, with least issues and possible dangers. I've considered a regular USB-power bank with a step up converter, and I have also considered buying 18650-cells to build a 4s2p power pack.

The 18650-cell option would probably be a bit cheaper, and most definitely lighter, but I'm new to all this, and worry about the dangers theese batteries provides (overcharging, discharging, need for balancing, issues regarding charging etc.).
I've bought a step down converter to provide power to the bluetooth module, and a spare USB-port (for phone charging etc).

I will also have a toggle on/off-switch, voltmeter and some LED-lights (for added bling) attached.

What do you think of this? Does it sound reasonable, or are there issues I've not considered?
I'm most unsure about the battery choice, so any input here is much appreciated. How many hours of use can I expect to get out of a 7,2Ah battery in this setup? Does step up/down-converters introduce noise to the amplifier? Anything I should do to avoid grounding noices?

With this setup I would only use one of the channels on the amplifier. I've read that it is possible to bridge the outputs, but that requires some modification to the amp. Ive also considered hooking up 2x4ohm car speakers in series (to get 8 ohm, same as the in wall speaker). Is this considered ok?

Any help is much appreciated, I'm new to all this :)