Cambridge SoundWorks Newton T500 Class D: Help to ID & Fix Design Flaw?

Hi Everyone,

I'm looking for help reverse engineering the Class D amp in a pair of Cambridge SoundWorks Newton T500 speakers I acquired in order to identify and fix any design flaws that may exist. Searching online for these speakers yields numerous complaints (namely on the AVS Forum) that the OEM amp design fails routinely in couple-year intervals. The company does offer a replacement service for mucho dinero and is unsurprisingly tight lipped about any faults / schematics or any help to DIY (no idea which company actually makes/supplies the amp).

Given the routine failures, even of the replacement amps, I imagine there must be a design flaw in here somewhere. Maybe one, maybe several components are underspec'd? Maybe it's the MOSFETs? Maybe something else.

Problem is - I'm a mechanical engineer, not an electrical engineer, so I'm a bit out of my league. I'm posting here hoping for some help and of course hoping to learn more about how Class D amps work and how I could go about diagnosing this on my own. Apologies in advance if I'm missing any threads I should I have read - I did search high and low for previous threads about repairing these amps and found nothing.

Below are a bunch of pics of the speaker and the amp in question. You'll see it's a 4 way design. The powered 10" sub and 12" PR are on the side of the enclosure, and the mid-bass/mid/tweeter are on the front. The sub input comes in directly to the plate amp, then through an adjustable low pass crossover and sub level pot to the sub. The high-level input seems to pass directly through the plate amp, to the passive crossover inside the cabinet, and on to the mid-bass/mid/tweeter.

Thanks in advance for any help!
Ryan

I0lHLSEl.jpg

JCLbASkl.jpg

1Ca05bvl.jpg

C2nTtDM.jpg

Last edited: