Why do I get music with signal return disconnected, but not when connected?

Hey guys! Been searching the forum and reading for 3 days now, but can't figure out/comprehend what's happening in my situation.

It's a battery-powered boombox that uses an automotive head unit, 2x TDA7498s, and a Boost Converter to give the amps 30ish volts.

12v from battery goes to head unit and boost converter. All grounded to the battery.

If I use both wires for a channel, going to the amplifier, there is no music from the speakers. If I unhook one of them, it plays perfectly. I feel like it's some kind of grounding problem, but I clearly don't know enough about this to figure out my problem. I've been hooking up radios and amplifiers for over 30 years, now, and it blows my mind that I can get sound with just one wire!

What am I doing wrong? And what Is this phenomenon (in my eyes lol)?

If I use both wires for a channel, going to the amplifier,

You have an head unit Probably with with BTL amps and want to connect it to the TDA's ?

If the head unit has BTL amps it won't work.

Why is it differrent, now, just because I'm not using it in a car?

Your head unit uses 4 amps, 2 in BTL configuration for each channel. OK 2 amps in one chip, and I am not meaning front & rear amps, but both 4 are used for the front speakers.

You are shorting one of the amplifiers when connecting one of the wires to ground and the chip goes into protection mode !!

Study Bridge Tied Load amplifiers and You will understand. BTL does not use a common ground.

Check with a multimeter if there is continuity in the -spk wire to the head unit chassis or the black negative supply wire. That tells You if it isn't BTL.

I would be looking into domestic sub schematics, since they usually accept both type of high level connections. Grab the signal before the head unit amp chips, or use some sort of transformer in-between (ground loop isolator for example)

or found this: