Battery powered phono+headphone amp

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hi all,

I'm looking to start a project for a portable phono preamp that can be USB charged, which means I'll be dealing with battery voltages as low as 3V. From what I've gathered, this will be tough to design in a way that has much headroom/overload. Is this tilting at windmills, or possible if I use active RIAA eq and carefully design my stages? There's also the problem that this is a single ended source, would I want to bias the MM cart or would I be better off making a negative rail (that somehow isn't noisy)?

I'm new to this, although I earned my B.Sc. in Electrical Engineering in 2018. I think I can handle the RIAA transfer function, but from a few hours of browsing, it's apparent that there is a lot more going on. My general idea is to use OPA1692's for the preamp and make life easy with a TPA6138a2 for headphones.

Am I on the right track? Did I get it right the first time? (ha)
If you could point me to the required reading, or offer any help at all, I'd be grateful

You can use a DC-DC converter after the battery and go with a typical dual rail supply everywhere. Nowadays battery capacitance is not a big problem so you can sacrifice a bit of power efficiency and design a better performing circuit. Also the choice of op-amps and headphone amp ICs will be far greater if you use standard supply voltages.

Regards,
Oleg

PRR

Joined 2003
Paid Member
> battery voltages as low as 3V. ... use OPA1692

Suggested for 3.5V up. Are you confident about operation at your intended voltage?

The usual RIAA in the NFB has trouble because RIAA rolls-off forever, and the NFB configuration tends to gain of unity. Working at gain of 50, the error happens as we approach 100KHz, so not an issue (except for lily-guilders). Working at much lower gain the error is appreciable.