Beginner's first gainclone - misc questions

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hi guys,

So I've settled on building my first GainClone (and first amp ever btw) and will be using circuitbasics' design for the amplification part and Decibel Dungeon article for PSU design.
I'm more and more confident in grasping the overall concept (splitting the different parts of the amp part in their functional use was a big help, see image below), although I still have a few questions in mind, most of same coming from the fact that on most of the resources I can find, PSUs & amp part are treated separately, leading to some confusion for the newbie I am :fight:

Please keep in mind that although I am familiar with invidual component usage (memories from engineering school help), I'm still learning about their application in diy audio.

Here are my designs (better writing writing them down to understand them):

PSU
An externally hosted image should be here but it was not working when we last tested it.

Amplification
An externally hosted image should be here but it was not working when we last tested it.

Questions :

• I'm sticking to a one transformer design to keep components costs low ; will a 160VA 2x24V 3.33A toroid transformer be enough ? Can you confirm that both channel's V+ (alternatively V-) are connected (as in my sketches ?)
  • PCD vs. breadboard ? I was thinking about making the rectifier bridges with breadboard and using premade PCB for the amp section (I can imagining my nightmare already trying to connect everything on a breadboard there...)
  • Would you advise some PCBs in particular (leading to a overall change in the design, sigh...) ? I see in the forum lots of chipamp PCBs, but the website doesn't seem to exist anymore...)