Gainclone using the LM4780 based on Cordell

Hi,

I'm new to the forum.

Please find see the attached schematic of my effort to reproduce the Cordell Super Gainclone using the LM4780 as opposed to the LM3886.

I have simulated the circuit in Proteus with some success and plan to see if it works in reality. Probably due to my lack of knowledge, the current mute circuit works in reverse, open circuit gives amplification. The output initially went rail to rail with SW1 circuit closed. Installing output caps C22 and C23 seems to have fixed that but I'm still unsure as to why.

I know it is probably futile to try to simulate the circuit as reality is always very different. I did this because it helps me to prevent catastrophic failure and wasted time.

I am not an electronics expert, and realise there are probably many errors in the circuit, therefore, I was hoping for any criticisms prior to embarking on silk-screening a pcb. I believe I need to separate the signal grounds from the power grounds.

Any input is more than welcomed.

Attachments

• LM4780 Cordell Super GC Works Mute Reversed External Connectors.pdf
    81 KB · Views: 242

PRR

Joined 2003
Paid Member

Attachments

• LM4780CordellSuperGCWorksMuteReversedExternalConnectors-NO-BIAS.gif
    LM4780CordellSuperGCWorksMuteReversedExternalConnectors-NO-BIAS.gif
    7.6 KB · Views: 416
Look at the schematic on page 540 of Bob's book.

Thanks PRR.
Could you give me a hint on how to implement that?

It's meant to be connected to the quiet ground. Pin 5 of U1:B and U4:B are also meant to be connected to the quiet ground.

I don't think the development of the Super Gain Clone was ever completed? Do you have access a Cordell PCB layout?

It might be easier to build one of composite amplifiers discussed and marketed on this forum. (My_Ref Fremen Edition and/or Modulus-86/286) Then at least you can get a decent PCB as a starting point, proven design, build instructions and plenty of support if things go wrong.