Newbie question about soldering/mounting actual chip

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hi all:

Once again, complete newbie here. Building a Chipamp.com LM3886 dual mono kit.

Now that I've established that my PSU boards are working fairly well, I am turning attention to finishing the two amp boards. Both are completely soldered except for the actual op-amp chips.

My question is, someone told me to mount the chip to a heatsink first, before I solder the chip to the board. Can't remember why. Is it not okay to just solder the chip to the board and then mount chip to heatsink afterwards?

I ask only because I noticed that once soldered to the board, the chip may not sit a 90 degree angle to the board. But I also noticed some flexion in the leads, so I assume that is for tweaking so you can gett chip mounted to both board and heatsink squarely?

My question is, someone told me to mount the chip to a heatsink first, before I solder the chip to the board. Can't remember why. Is it not okay to just solder the chip to the board and then mount chip to heatsink afterwards?

Unless it's a very small clip-on heatsink, the sink and the board have to have a 'fixed relationship' - i.e. be securely fastened somehow. You don't want the sink hanging on the chip leads.
There's lots of 'extra' lead length on the chip to allow for small adjustments before soldering.

So, IMO the advice to mount the chip on the sink first is correct, and will usually be easier. But, it depends on the physical layout you have in mind.
As long as there's no mechanical stress on the solder joints you should be OK.

I've put together a few chip projects. Those, and scavenging parts from scrap hifi equipment and power supplies, gave me an idea of how to arrange the heatsinks.

VictoriaGuy: