Questions about a TDA2040 based amp

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hi all,
since I'm relatively new in building amps, I'm here for some advice.
My plan is to build a single channel amp around the TDA2040 chip, I don't really need too much power as the amp will be used to drive a near field mini monitor at low to medium SPL. I already have a 50VA 9V toroidal transformer with 2 secondary windings that will be connected in series with a center tap thus providing -9, 0 9V or roughly -12, 0, 12V after rectification. I know that I can use higher voltages with this chip but this is what I have and for now I don't want to buy another transformer, I can do that later.

First question: what should I use as a smoothing cap after the bridge rectifier. 2x 2200uF? 4x 2200uF? some other values?

Second question is about the heatsink. The tab of the chip is connected to the pin 3 and with a split power supply this pin is connected to -V. I don't have any experience on that but I'm pretty sure I do need to (electrically) insulate the heatsink. What is the proper method of doing that? Is thermal grease between the tab and the heatsink sufficient, or do I need to use a thermal pad, or other method that I'm not aware of?

Third question is about power-on or off pop up. Does this chip provide some protection on that or do I have to worry about? What I have to do?

Last question is about the PCB. Following the datasheet I've designed the attached PCB. Does it seems good, or are there flaws that I'm not aware of? Also what happens if I change C3, C4 and C7 to 0.15 or 0.22uF (instead of 0.1uF)? Or if I change R4 to 2R2 instead of 4R7? Or R2 to 560R instead of 680R?

Any other comment will also be appreciated.

The datasheet of the TDA2040 can be seen here: Datasheet

Thanks in advance, Ralf

Attachments

• amp_tda2040.png
    amp_tda2040.png
    31.5 KB · Views: 424