TPA Retro vs Passdiy Pearl 2...

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hi!

I'm still a relative DIY newbie and am looking to build a solid state phono preamp from a kit. I've been looking at the Twisted Pear Audio Retro and the Passdiy Pearl 2.

Just wondering if there are any general opinions on the two preamps. At the moment I'm leaning towards the Retro as its balanced (and I'll have to mod my table as well) and there's no mention of it being inverting. I think the cost may also be less than the Pearl 2. I haven't found any comparative sound impressions though.

I know that this will probably be a 'build both and let us know what you think' thread, but I was wondering whether there were any general opinions.

Thanks!
Taz.

Hi! Thanks for the reply!

I currently use MM carts, but am considering picking up a DL301ii for my Rega TT. I'd be equally happy with MM levels of gain and Cinemag transformers, but MC levels of gain are fine too.

I'm not really too fussed anyway, as I'm sure either will be of adequate quality. I guess I'm just looking for some guidance on which one to go for. I'll probably go the Pearl 2 as there seems to be a lot of positive feedback on here about it.

Thanks again!
Taz.

Joined 2014
Paid Member
The pearl2 is not ideally suited to MM as it is really an MC stage, with TP you have different versions depending on cart impedance. The Salas is another option which should do equally well.

If you think the DL103 is your 'final' cartridge destination any of those 3 should give you great pleasure.

I built and use the salas phono with a ortofon 2m bronze (mm). It is fantastic. The salas stage can only be built mm or mc dedicated...the mm and mc versions use diffeent voltage rails. You could do mm with a sut.

I would also look at the paradise phono stage (mc only).

Joined 2003
Paid Member