output preamp & attenuator coloring box for eurorack modular to balanced +4db

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hi,

First of all, I'm a little hesistant to start this project, because i have no knowledge about electronics, and the level on this forum is pretty high. Bear with me please :)

i'll give it a shot... I've been reading a lot lately on how I want to do this, but its not easy. The idea may seem like it, but there's a lot involved (so i read). Here, I hope any of you can point me into the right direction (not expecting full solutions). Be honest if this is a bad idea, if else, hopefully I can build my first project :)

Impedance matching
Ok, so, the idea is, a eurorack system is build of modules that have quite a hot output. The impedance lies around 1K. To convert it to line level which can go into my daw, it should be around 10K. Many of the outputs will be -10dB, but obviously, I prefer it balanced to +4dB.

Choice to use transformer
While doing this, I could choose to have an active build (like an active DI) or do it passively with a transformer. By reading, an active output is often preferred with a passieve circuit and vice versa. Since I want to convert it to balanced, and not step it down to mic level, I might be wrong about this assumption to do it with a transformer.

Signal coloration
So, lets assume this output transformer is a good idea, and I balance the output signal with this. In comes the idea of transformer saturation. I would like to color the signal to get a more signature sound out of the synth.